Home > Life & Love > Back to Square One: Hyperthyroidism is Out

Back to Square One: Hyperthyroidism is Out

Spent all day in the hospital.  I kid you not.  I got there at 8:30 in the morning just in time for my scheduled thyroid ultrasound, and I left at close to 5 pm!  Tests, consultations, more tests, more consultations…  only to find out later that I’m back to square one.😦

Turns out that my initial tests for TSH, FT3 and FT4 [thyroid tests] were not so accurate.  My doctor ordered me to have another round of blood tests because she was almost certain that my hyperthyroidism isn’t back.  [I was given a clean bill from this last year, some time in July]

The ultrasound also did not show anything remarkable about my thyroid glands.  So it turns out that my doctor was right. I’m free from hyperthyroidism. I was actually hoping that my thyroid condition was back because it meant that all the fevers I’ve been getting since October of last year, the malaise, the weakness and the weight loss could all be attributed to my hyper thyroid condition.

For the first time since I’ve been going to her, she showed a bit of alarm.  She wants to get to the bottom of my weight loss and my fevers and so she ordered another round of tests.  More ultrasound, more blood tests and the things that I have been dreading the most since this whole fever-malaise-weight-loss mess happened:  colonoscopy and endoscopy. 😦

I must admit that I stopped going for check-ups when some of the initial tests didn’t show anything.  I just got tired of the whole deal.  But short of berating me, she insisted that I see her after each test so she can thoroughly check everything.  She also said as gently as possible that she will refer me to an oncologist.  She said there is nothing to be afraid of.  She just wants to make sure that all possible areas are covered.

Truth be told, I’m more pissed than scared.  I just want this whole being sick business to go away.  I don’t want this hanging over my head.  I want it over and done with as soon as possible.  And I know that I have to put in the effort this time. 😦

This whole thing has put a damper on my day.  Now I’m not in the mood to catch-up with work or do anything else.  What a day, huh?

  1. wayan
    December 5, 2010 at 5:01 PM

    Thanks for the info. you are very helpful.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

