Home > Heartstrings, Life & Love > *Crushed* Crush

*Crushed* Crush

Had a chance to “connect” with an old high school crush.  He found me through one of those social networking sites and added me as his friend.  Anyway, I remember how I went gaga over this guy.  I was head over heels “in love” with this guy for so long!

Now that I’ve seen him again, I wonder why I liked him in the first place?  He’s not good looking, so that’s out.  He’s not a stimulating conversationalist [at least not for me], so that’s out, too.  He’s kind of a guy’s guy, you know?  Kind of rough in his ways and crude, hehehe.  So why did I like this guy?!

To be fair to him, I did try to find out why I liked him back then.  We chatted for awhile and I was polite enough to laugh at his jokes [they were crude jokes by the way, not witty], I tried hard to talk on the same wavelength as his.. we talked about work, life and stuff… and for the life of me, I still couldn’t figure out why I liked him.:mrgreen:

When I found out that he’s a graphic artist now, I thought perhaps we would click because we practically work in the same creative field.. still nothing. :|  Back in high school, it meant the world to me every time he’d talk to me or pay me any attention.  Bonuses were his being sweet and all.  Now that he’s paying me more attention than I’d care to get, it does nothing for me.  Go figure.

I guess it was just one of those silly things that you go through when you’re young.  Thank God, we didn’t get together back then!  It would have been disastrous!

I must admit though, that when I saw his friend request, my heart did a little pitter-patter.  I got all excited, too.  But as with most anything that has to do with my pseudo love life, it was short-lived.😀

That’s about the size of it.

  1. fancypants
    August 25, 2010 at 7:50 PM

    Good luck then.🙂 I hope you do get a reply, who knows eh?🙂

    • Mark
      August 25, 2010 at 8:30 PM

      Much thanks🙂. Who knows…?

      • fancypants
        August 25, 2010 at 8:38 PM

        Who knows.. something nice might come of it.🙂 It could be the start of a wonderful friendship for the two of you.. or maybe something more if you’re both still free..🙂 Lots of luck!😀

  2. fancypants
    August 25, 2010 at 6:23 PM

    Hmmm… Well remember that part where you mentioned something about the “anonymous” letter that was never answered [she did find out who you were so she could have easily answered or at least acknowledged it in some way]?

    I’m guessing it crushed you or at least brought on a whole slew of emotions that wreaked havoc for awhile. It could happen again, you know. No matter how much older we get, we suddenly turn into these giddy, shy teenagers when we come face to face with our “young loves.”

    The thing is, we can’t react in much the same way as when we were teenagers when faced with “unreciprocated” feelings or at the very least “unreturned” crushes. We can’t throw tantrums, lock ourselves up in the room, go on a drinking binge.. because we’re adults now and we got responsibilities…

    Sometimes, not knowing is better than knowing and getting crushed all over again.😦 At least that’s how I see it..🙂

    But heck, what do I know? I’m not exactly an expert when it comes to relationships.😀

    • Mark
      August 25, 2010 at 7:34 PM

      I’m by far from an expert, so I value your opinion. However, if I DID send her a quick hello (which is all I would do), I most definitely would not expect a reply. I doubt she would, to be honest, but I think if I didn’t at least reach out, I’d go to my grave with another regret🙂.

  3. fancypants
    August 25, 2010 at 12:34 PM

    Hey Mark,

    I’ve read your post.🙂 Hmm.. you know, if you’re in a good place already, it might not be such a good idea after all to re-connect with your crush. It could open Pandora’s Box, if you know what I mean..😦

    • Mark
      August 25, 2010 at 5:58 PM

      Hi again🙂. Could you elaborate on what you think might come out of Pandora’s box? Just wondering what the downside is, as I’m not seeing a lot. But then again, I’m not the sharpest knife in the drawer when it comes to things like this🙂.

  4. Mark
    August 25, 2010 at 10:02 AM

    Here, if you get insomnia, is the sordid details of my crush:

    http://threequartertime.wordpress.com/2007/10/16/melissa-confessions-of-a-high-school-crush/

    Hope it doesn’t put you to sleep too quickly🙂.

  5. fancypants
    August 25, 2010 at 9:28 AM

    Awwww… maybe you should re-connect just to find out if there are still sparks, at least on your part. Would be good to find out instead of always wondering “What if?”😀 I can’t find your blog though..😦 If you could give me the link I’d be more than happy to read more about this crush of yours, hehehe…😉

    Thanks for dropping by, Mark! Hope to see more of you here..🙂

  6. Mark
    August 25, 2010 at 12:18 AM

    Was wondering if I should say hi to my high school crush but, now, am wondering if she’d react the same way you did.😦. You can read about mine on my blog (it’s a few pages back), if you care…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

