Home > Family, Heartstrings > Happy Mom’s Day!

Happy Mom’s Day!

Yesterday, we celebrated the one woman in our lives that mean the most to us — that great, great woman we lovingly call “Mom.”

Notwithstanding my fever and malaise😦 .. it was a great celebration for us:  mom, me, my daughter and my brother. :)  We ate at a good restaurant [Tender Bob’s — our current favorite resto] and we took advantage of the free photo-ops given by The Block for all moms.🙂

Mom and I were each given a long-stemmed rose as part of The Block’s Mother’s Day special; so it was a good celebration all in all.  I am however currently in bed, not able to move and down with fever and malaise… I am trying to work though because I have a deadline to meet.😥

On a different note but still on moms🙂 .. I remember bawling when I first heard the following song.  It tells so much of how it is to be a mom… The highlighted parts are the ones that hit me where it hurts the most.. for those who know my story, you’ll understand why…

If I Could – Barbra Streisand

If I could
I’d protect you from the sadness in your eyes
Give you courage in a world of compromise
Yes, I would
If I could
I would teach you all the things I’ve never learned
And I’d help you cross the bridges that I’ve burned
Yes, I would

If I could
I would try to shield your innocence from time
But the part of life I gave you isn’t mine
I’ve watched you grow
So I could let you go
If I could
I would help you make it through the hungry years
But I know that I can never cry your tears
But I would
If I could
If I live
In a time and place where you don’t want to be
You don’t have to walk along this road with me
My yesterday
Won’t have to be your way
If I knew
I’d have tried to change the world I brought to you to
And there isn’t very much that I can do
But I would
If I could
If I could
I would try to shield your innocence from time
But the part of life I gave you isn’t mine
I’ve watched you grow
So I could let you go
If I could
I would help you make it through the hungry years
But I know that I can never cry your tears
But I would
If I could
Yes I would
Yes I would
If I could

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

