Home > Family > Happy Birthday, Papa!

Happy Birthday, Papa!

It’s been four years since we last celebrated my dad’s birthday together as a family.  Mom and him have been living in the US for four years now and so family celebrations have taken a backseat…until we can all be together again.

My dad and my daughter share the same birthday [March 19]…that’s why she’s the favorite grandchild, hehehe.  That, and she was the first grandchild in the family.🙂

Phone calls and cards would have to suffice until we can all celebrate birthdays and Christmases again.

Here’s my birthday tribute to you, Papa… 

Your very first view

of the great big world

was from up there

on your father’s broad shoulders.

Little did I know back then

that those same shoulders

would be there

to lean on, cry on,

depend on, too —

anytime I needed them.

Thanks, Papa!

[Much as I’d like to take credit for the above verse, it ain’t mine.  It’s from a Hallmark card I sent him this year. ;)  But mine or not, the sentiments come from the heart…🙂 ]

Categories: Family Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

